Click here to nominate a visionary in education now

Since 1988, The Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education has recognized outstanding individuals who have dedicated themselves to improving education through new approaches and whose accomplishments are making a difference today.

Past McGraw Prize winners have included Geoffrey Canada of Harlem Children’s Zone, Sal Khan of the Khan Academy, Wendy Kopp of Teach For America and Andreas Schleicher of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

As part of a new alliance between McGraw-Hill Education and Arizona State University (ASU), the public will have the opportunity for the first time to submit nominations for the Prize by visiting until November 15, 2015.

The McGraw Prize will include three categories: U.S. K-12, higher education and international. Honorees receive an award of $50,000. The McGraw Prize dinner and ceremony will be held at the ASU+GSV Innovation Summit in San Diego on April 19, 2016.

Nominees for the 2016 Harold W. McGraw, Jr. Prize in Education should exemplify:
Leadership in at least one of the three categories
Adaptivity to a changing environment
Dedication to best practices in education
Measured, positive impact on his or her institution or the field
Positive change in the lives of others
Transformational accomplishments in education
Highest respect by his or her peers
Inspiration to others to strive for excellence

Submit nominations at by November 15, 2015. Follow the Prize process on social media using the hashtag #McGrawPrize.

McGraw Prize winners in the news:
Chris Lehman (2014) Huffington Post:
How to Plan Better Professional Development
Sal Khan (2012) ChicagoInno:
Khan Academy Founder Talks Bringing Virtual Learning To Brick-And-Mortar Schools
Robert W. Mendenhall (2010) The Atlantic:
The Online College That Credits Life Experience